How to access the Git repo that subgit has created

Hi…

I’ve installed subgit on Ubuntu and configured it with our SVN repository. We access our SVN repository using svnserve. How do you suggest we access the git repository? I’m quite new to git.

Thanks
Ravindra

Hi Ravindra,

Git supports different remote protocols, such as git or ssh protocols; it can also be configured to be accessed over http but it would require a web server to serve the http requests. If the Git repository is on your local computer, then you can also use the file protocol or even access the repository using regular filesystem paths. Find more details on the protocols in Git documentation:

Git - The Protocols

Also note, that SubGit create a bare Git repository translating data from SVN, so you won’t see the files in the directory. To work with the files you would need to clone the repository with the git clone command.

Hi Ildar,

Thank you for the quick reply and also a big thanks for this wonderful product! It saved me countless hours of work!!

1. Our SVN repo is on a server and I setup subgit with repo on same server. I read up a bit and came across git-shell. Seems similar to svnserve. I only have small issue…

We use svnserve via a user called svn:svn
I setup git:git user as suggested in your docs. git is part of svn group and vice-versa.
The git repositories are under

/git/project1.git
/git/project2.git

I made the /git directory the home dir of user git. However, ssh authentication fails because of bad ownership of git directory (owned by svn). Can I change it to owned by git? Will that affect subgit sync?

1. I also setup sync with GitHub use the post-receive hook. However, I want different credentials to be used for project1 and project2. How do I store the credentials per repo? Can I run git config credential.helper store inside project1.git and then again under project2.git? This is really a git question but I thought I’ll check if you know how.

Regards and thanks,
Ravindra